Top Ten Tuesday: Fantasy and Sci-Fi

67de2-toptentuesday2

Top Ten Freebie: Blogger Choice

Since this weeks Top Ten Tuesday is a freebie, I figured I’d pick my favorite Sci-Fi and Fantasy books. It’s so hard to put them in any particular order, so I’m just going to list them, but not number them.

Keeper of the Lost Cities: This is probably one of the cutest stories that I’ve read. The main character Sophie is absolutely adorable and I love the world that Shannon Messenger created. It’s one of my favorite Middle Grade reads!

The Lunar Chronicles: How could I not include these books. They’re sci-fi and fantasy in one, with just the right amount of humor and intensity.

Daughter of Smoke and Bone: Laini Taylor is one of my absolute favorite authors. Not only have I read this series, but also her MG one, which includes Blackbringer and Silksinger. Her writing is beautiful, imaginative, and just pulls me in. I can’t imagine not wanting to read whatever she’s written.

These Broken Stars: This is one of the few strictly sci-fi books I’ve read, and it was brilliant! Meagan Spooner and Amie Kaufman had me from the very beginning. I could put this book, or their second, down and hated when I reached the end. I hope to continue reading more from them.

Throne of Glass: This is one of my absolute favorite books and fantasy series. Sarah has done a great job of setting the stage, and slowly building the story. Reaching the end will be a sad, but happy day.

Unchanged: I just finished this book, the last in Jessica Brody’s Unremembered series. It was beautiful, intriguing, and exactly what a sci-fi book should be (at least in my opinion).

His Fair Assassin Series: This was a historical/fantasy series and Robin LaFevers did an amazing job with it. We got a little of both, and what fantasy was brought in, was handled so well. I loved her take and the fact that it wasn’t overly done or so out there that it couldn’t be believable.

Vicious: Again, V.E. Schwab was one of my favorite authors. I love her YA books, and I’m really loving her adult novels, including this one. It was dark, and gritty, and just… so good!

Brisingr: This was the second to last book in Christopher Paolini’s Inheritance Cycle series. I’m not really sure why, but it was my favorite of all four books. I mean, dragons… what’s not to love?

The Burning Sky: I was greatly surprised by this book. I loved everything, including the magic and the special book that the prince used (so cool!). Sherry really pulled me in and made me want to know more. I can’t wait to read book 2 and finally get my hands on the last book!

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Fantasy and Sci-Fi

  1. I love your post, I adore fantasy books!!! My sci-fi books are *cough* limited to the Star Trek ones so I’m not much good there lol. But yet! Star Trek, right? I loved the Inheritance Cycle series, the books often make it onto my lists 🙂
    There’s so many series I haven’t read here! Throne of Glass is on my TBR list, it’s been recommended so many times I simply must read it. Daughter of Smoke and Bone also looks good. I love it when people recommend books they love because it almost guarantees it to be a good book 😉 *adds it on my Goodreads page* ha ha.
    Have a great week!
    Amy x

  2. I enjoy sci fi/fantasy, but I haven’t read most of these. Shame on me! I do love The Lunar Chronicles, though. The whole series is fab and I can’t wait to read WINTER. I definitely need to read some of these other books you listed, especially the Fair Assassin ones. I’ve heard great things about them.

    Happy TTT!

    Susan
    http://www.blogginboutbooks.com

Leave a Reply

